The East Atlantic Gymnastics League (EAGL) became a reality on July 31, 1995, when eight universities banded together to form a union solely for the purpose of showcasing women’s gymnastics on the East Coast. The league presently consists of the University of North Carolina, and North Carolina State University of the Atlantic Coast Conference; University of Pittsburgh of the Big East Conference; George Washington University of the Atlantic 10 Conference and the University of New Hampshire of the America East Conference. Towson University , one of the original league members, left EAGL in 2005 to rejoin the Eastern College Athletic Conference and returned to EAGL in 2014. In August 1996, the NCAA Council accepted the EAGL as an official affiliated member of the NCAA.